Detailed Program

Home / Program / Detailed Program

* For details on each speaker, click speaker’s name.

Time Program Venue
09:00-18:00 Registration Grand Ballroom Lobby (1F)
09:30-10:35 Opening Ceremony
Opening Remarks:
- Yunmo Sung, Minister, Ministry of Trade, Industry and Energy, Republic of Korea
Welcoming Remarks:
- Won-soon Park, Mayor, Seoul Metropolitan Government
Congratulatory Remarks:
- Arthouros Zervos, Chair, Renewable Energy Policy Network for the 21st Century
Keynote Speech:
- Ki-moon Ban, Chair, Korea’s National Council on Climate and Air Quality
Inspirational Speech:
- Dohyun Kim, Young Climate Activist
Auditorium (3F)
11:00-13:00 High-level Panel I

Renewable Energy: The Conventional Fuel of Tomorrow

Roundtable 1-1 (11:00-12:05)

Theme: Vision for Renewable Energy and Energy Transition

- Ji Yeon Kim, Anchor, Arirang TV
- Fahed Al Hammadi, Acting Assistant Undersecretary for the Green Development and Climate Change Sector, Ministry of Climate Change and Environment, United Arab Emirates
- Thorsten Herdan, Director General, Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy, The Federal Republic of Germany
- Francesco La Camera, Director General, International Renewable Energy Agency
- Tun Lean, Undersecretary of State, Ministry of Mines and Energy, Kingdom of Cambodia
- Baohua Liu, Vice Administrator, National Energy Administration, The People’s Republic of China
- Frank Rijsberman, Director General, Global Green Growth Institute
- Yunmo Sung, Minister, Ministry of Trade, Industry and Energy, Republic of Korea
- Davaasuren Tserenpil, Minister, Ministry of Energy, Mongolia

Roundtable 1-2 (12:10-12:55)

Theme: Renewable Energy and Energy Accessibility to Drive Social and Economic Development

- Ji Yeon Kim, Anchor, Arirang TV
- Mark Dooley, Global Head, Green Investment Group
- Morten Dyrholm, Senior Vice President, Vestas Wind Systems A/S
- Hee Cheul Kim, Global CEO, Hanwha Q CELLS & Advanced Materials
- Jude Lee, Deputy Program Director, Greenpeace East Asia
- Robert Guild, Chief Sector Officer, Asian Development Bank
- Xizhou Zhou, Managing Director for Global Power & Renewables, IHS Markit
Auditorium (3F)
13:00-14:30 Networking Lunch Exhibition Hall D2 (3F)
14:30-14:55 Open Talks
- Jee Young Park, SVP, Corporate Communications, Hanwha Group
- Hyerin Park, Founder and CEO, ENOMAD Corp
Auditorium (3F)
15:00-16:00 Plenary Panel

The New Normal: Renewable Energy Front and Center

- Sven Teske, Institute for Sustainable Futures, University of Technology Sydney, Australia
- Mary Anne Hilt, Sierra Club
- Thorsten Herden, Director General, Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy, The Federal Republic of Germany
- Marti Brommer, International Geothermal Organization
- Sungwoo Kim, KIM & CHANG
Auditorium (3F)
16:00-16:30 Coffee Break Auditorium Lobby (3F)
16:30-18:00 Parallel Sessions Grand Ballroom 101~105 (1F)

Track 1 Policy and Market Design

1A. Systematically Advancing Renewable Energy Globally and in End-use Sectors:
The Need for Better Integration

- Paolo Frankl, International Energy Agency
- Rainer Hinrichs-Rahlwes, European Renewable Energies Federation
- Manfred Fischedick, Wuppertal Institute for Climate, Environment, Energy
- Miguel Herrero, SolarPower Europe
- Won Young Yang Yi, Energy Transition Forum Korea
(Grand Ballroom 103)

Track 2 Cities (Organized with Seoul Metropolitan Gov’t)

2A. Cities: Their Role in Advancing the Renewable Energy Sector Transformation

- Eui Seung Kim, Seoul Metropolitan Government
- Hanah Paik, Carbon Disclosure Project
- Amanda Eichel, Global Covenant of Mayors for Climate & Energy
- H. A. Vimal Nadeera, Sri Lanka Sustainable Energy Authority
- Hyung-geun Kim, Ulsan City
- Teruyuki Ohno, Renewable Energy Institute
(Grand Ballroom 101)

Track 3 Finance, Technology & Industrialization

3A. Local Value Chain Creation: Opportunities in Developing the Renewable Energy Sector

- Arunabha Ghosh, Council on Energy, Environment and Water
- Rana Ghoneim, United Nations Industrial Development Organization
- William Gaillard, Vestas Asia Pacific Wind Technology Pte Ltd
- Tomas Kåberger, Renewable Energy Institute, Japan / Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden
- Won Seo Park, Unison Co., Ltd.
- Kuljit Singh Popli, International Solar Alliance
(Grand Ballroom 102)

Track 4 Innovation: New Energy Solutions

4A. The Role of Innovation to Advance Energy Transition

- Hendrik Tiesinga, New Energy Nexus
- Ellen von Zitzewitz, Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy, Germany
- Robert Guild, Asian Development Bank
- Heejip Kim, Seoul National University
- Joon Ha Kim, Gwangju Institute of Science and Technology
- Sunita Satyapal, US Department of Energy / International Partnership for Hydrogen and Fuel Cells in the Economy
- Nicholas Wagner, International Renewable Energy Agency
- Xizhou Zhou, IHS Markit
(Grand Ballroom 104)

Track 5 Social Dimension of the Energy Transition

5A. How Can We Make the Energy Transformation Truly Inclusive?

- Hugo Lucas Porta, Institute for Energy Diversification and Energy Saving, Spain
- Stefan Mager, Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit
- Natasha Allen, Mee Panyar
- Alexios Chatzimpiros, Samsø Energy Academy
- Irene Giner-Reichl, Global Women’s Network for the Energy Transition
- Yunsoung Kim, Green Energy Strategy Institute
(Grand Ballroom 105)
18:30-20:30 Welcome Reception

(Open to All Participants)

Grand InterContinental Seoul Parnas,
Grand Ballroom (5F)